Committees & Task Forces

IndyBar Committees & Task Forces

IndyBar Committees & Task Forces take on important business and initiatives on behalf of the association. Committee and task force sizes vary in size of members, length of volunteer commitment and nature of work, but all offer volunteers a meaningful way to contribute their efforts for the betterment of the bar and the Indy legal community.

Current Committees & Task Forces

Attorneys for an Independent Bench (AIB) Committee

The purpose of AIB is to serve as a mechanism to truly achieve Attorneys for an Independent Bench by all manners approved by the IndyBar Board of Directors.  2016 Committee Chairs: John F. Kautzman, Ruckelshaus Kautzman Blackwell Bemis & Hasbrook, and Kevin P. McGoff, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP

Audit and Investments Committee

The Audit and Investments Committee oversees the performance of the annual audit, monitors the performance of the investment managers, and receives reports for recommendation to the Board of Directors.  2016 Committee Chair: Tom Barnard, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Bar Leader Series Committee

The Bar Leader Series Committee guides the planning and execution of the Bar Leader Series, a leadership development program for attorneys in their third to tenth year of practice. 2016 Committee Chair: Mike Hebenstreit, Whitham Hebenstreit & Zubek LLP

Bar Review Committee

The Bar Review Committee is responsible for the oversight of IndyBar Review, the official bar review course of the Indianapolis Bar Association. 2016 Committee Chair: Christine Hickey, Rubin & Levin PC

Bench Bar Conference Committee

The Bench Bar Conference Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the IndyBar's annual Bench Bar Conference. 2016 Committee Chair: Stephanie Cassman, Lewis Wagner LLP

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee oversees the creation of the operating budget and monitors performance against budget throughout the year. 2016 Committee Chair: Tom Barnard, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Diversity Job Fair Committee

The Diversity Job Fair Committee is tasked with the planning and execution of the annual Diversity Job Fair. 2016 Committee Chair: TBA

Grievance Committee

The Grievance Committee, comprised of about 60 local practicing attorneys and separated into four different panels, investigates complaints filed to the Disciplinary Commission. 2016 Committee Chair: Kent Newton, Newton Becker Bouwkamp Pendoski PC

Helping Enrich Attorneys' Lives (HEAL)

HEAL reaches out to members of the Indy legal community who are experiencing personal crises like health issues. Volunteers communicate with the member to determine how the bar could help and ultimately organize assistance. 2016 Committee Chair: Kelly Scanlan, Baker & Gilchrist

Indy Attorneys Network Committee

This committee guides the activities of the Indy Attorneys Network, an add-on IndyBar member benefit that facilitates networking opportunities between attorneys, judges and law students. 2016 Committee Chair: Kelly Huang Eddy, Eichhorn & Eichhorn

Innovation and Research Council

Volunteer researchers on the IndyBar's Innovation and Research Council take on specialized research assignments in connection with the legal profession's changing environment and deliver work product for review and action by IndyBar leadership. 2016 Chair: A. Scott Chinn, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Justice Center Task Force

The Indianapolis Bar Association's Justice Center Task Force seeks to cause the building of a new justice center in Marion County that will allow for safe, efficient, economical, and dignified administration of justice. 2016 Committee Chair: John F. Kautzman, Ruckelshaus Kautzman Blackwell Bemis & Hasbrook

Judicial Excellence Committee

The Judicial Excellence Committee is a non-partisan committee with the charge of conducting and publicizing non-partisan surveys of Marion County judicial candidates to promote the fair and effective selection of qualified judicial candidates. 2016 Chair: TBA

Legal Services Task Force

The Legal Services Task Force oversees the operation of the IndyBar's Lawyer Referral Service and Indy Lawyer Finder. 2016 Chair: Sarah Starkey, Cohen Garelick & Glazier PC

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee monitors legislation on behalf of the association, alerting members to items of interest and coordinating the IndyBar's response to potential legislation. 2016 Committee Chair: Lawren Mills, Ice Miller LLP

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for the IndyBar's membership outreach efforts, including both recruitment of new members and retention of current members. 2016 Committee Chair:  James Bell, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is tasked with soliciting and reviewing nominations and presenting a slate of nominees for the following positions on the Indianapolis Bar Association Board of Directors: First Vice President, Treasurer and five At-Large Board Member positions. 2016 Committee Chair: TBA

Paralegal Committee

The Paralegal Committee guides the planning and execution of events and initiatives on behalf of and for the benefit of IndyBar paralegal members. 2016 Committee Chair: Arlene Morris, Whitham Hebenstreit & Zubek LLP

Professionalism Committee

The IndyBar's Standing Committee on Professionalism oversees the association's professionalism efforts and is tasked with working to improve public confidence and trust in lawyers through activities that (a) promote positive lawyer images in the Indianapolis community and (b) educate members and the public on how to avoid those circumstances that can lead to client distrust and dissatisfaction. 2016 Committee Chair: Arend Abel, Cohen & Malad

Pro Bono Committee

The Pro Bono Committee monitors, operates and evaluates the IndyBar's pro bono initiativesand identifies future opportunities for pro bono service and involvement. 2016 Committee Chair: Manny Herceg, Lewis & Kappes PC

Solo/Small Firm Task Force

This group guides the planning and execution of events and initiatives on behalf of and for the benefit of IndyBar members practicing in solo and/or small firm environments. 2016 Committee Chair: Keith Hancock, Campbell Kyle Proffitt LLP